Color Me RU (a.k.a. The Color Run of Rutgers)

Last Friday I was able to cross off “The Color Run” experience from my bucket list. Rutgers University has taught me through this event that they truly do provide so much for their students, especially if you’re interested in getting involved. I figured it was time to start experiencing what the university offers me before I graduate. Looking back on this day, I knew this was something I knew I had to attend again- but with my family and friends.

We started off with registration, where we received vibrant shades to cover our eyes from the colored cornstarch and a neat bandana. Once registering, there was an open field for the students, families and friends that offered free refreshments (fried Oreos, ice cream and our very own KnightWagon- YUM!), a tie-dye station, live performances, inflatable obstacle courses, and a photo-booth to take pictures with our mascot, the Scarlet Knight. The run started shortly after where everyone lined up in a sea of white tee’s. There were volunteers along the way that motivated us to keep running as well as five different color stations (my favorite color stations had to be blue and purple)!

Image

We started off in white and ended the run in so much color (and an after party)! As I ran, I saw so many contagious smiles on students faces and thought: This was the best way to end the semester. I had a tough transfer year at Rutgers and have not been doing my best because I had a difficult time adjusting (I’m going through transfer shock), but this has inspired me to start off the next semester doing great things. This was the first time the university created an event like this but I hope they continue it as I deem it a successful experience.

Image

I am now registering a team for The Color Run in August with my friends and family. If you haven’t experienced this- you must do so as soon as possible! Especially if you want to experience a surrounding filled with nothing but positivity! If you’re interested for more information on The Color Run, go to http://www.thecolorrun.com and view the videos- they will convince you to attend, trust me!

Image

Image

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

