Enjoy my vacation in Bermuda with my best friend and family ♥

Departure from: Bayonne, New Jersey

Estimated Arrival: Wednesday, 8:30 a.m., Bermuda

So our family vacation was a success! We boarded Celebrity Summit, a very different cruise line that took some adjustment because we were so used to the Carnival cruise lines, but we survived! The two days out at sea were a bit of a drag, but I’m thankful my best friend joined me on the journey because it gave us a chance to bond and include my mother on the fun activities the ship had to offer (it was also her first time on a cruise).

Image

Bermuda was such an incredible experience. We arrived on Wednesday morning and were scheduled to leave Friday afternoon, giving us plenty of time to explore the island. The first day we took a bus to Horseshoe Bay Beach, where I was able to play in the pink sand and soak up some of the sun. Jenn, my mother, and I ventured off to different areas of the beach, discovering caves and sharp cliffs. The greatest moment of that day was watching my mother climb a cliff and jump straight into the salty teal water. Never have I encountered my mother conquer a fear of hers (she was afraid of heights and anything that had to do with water, as she did not know how to swim very well). But as she jumped a second time from the cliff, I sat there, astonished at the fact that I was more chicken to jump from it than she was.

Image

We walked back to shore to lie out and admire the ocean view. As I lay next to my mother, Jenn asked, “What has gotten into you? Never have I once imagined you jumping off a cliff! And yet you jumped off and it took Beatrice and I awhile to do it!” I agreed with Jenn and added that she was also afraid of many things, especially roller coasters (it’s the height issue). “After everything I’ve been through this past year with breast cancer, lumpectomy operation and radiation sessions, I’ve decided to conquer my fears. When I head back home, they need to find what the lump in my right breast is, so I figured what the hell- I might have to undergo another operation for it and my time is now, I want to do things I’ve never imagined myself doing,” my mother said.

She didn’t notice, but tears trickled down my face as she spoke, because it was at that moment where I was just SO PROUD of her! I was watching my mother rise from her own ashes, like a phoenix, and become such a courageous, fearless person. I had a feeling deep down that Nick Nikias, an old friend who passed away from cancer just a year ago, had something to do with this. Nikias was edging her on to jump off the cliff, to face her fears and guide her towards happiness. I truly thank Nikias for that.

The next two days we stayed close to the ship and shopped around for souvenirs and speak with the locals at Snorkel Bay beach. We experienced a beach party with Bermudians as well! Everyone was so friendly and so caring; the weather was perfect- I did not want to leave! After boarding the ship Friday afternoon, we watched the ship move away from Bermuda on the top deck. Here, we all took time to reflect on everything we accomplished throughout the week: we partook in zumba for a cause, where the proceeds went to The Breast Cancer Foundation, we danced each and every night at the club to the point where guests of the ship would recognize us and compliment us all on our dancing skills, we were even grateful to view a couple of Broadway shows the ship had scheduled for us.

Image

Image

Caribbean’s, I will be seeing you next summer ❤

With Love,

Beatrice Rivera

 

Leave a Reply

